The Villa was built between 1925 and 1930 by the architect Mr. Kokkas as a private house of the Achilles Varsamis family who was a tabaco wholsaler and supplier.
The building is typologically and morphologically classified as “tower-villa” and its decorative elements have strong references to “Art-Deco” style.
The building functioned as a private house of the Varsamis family until 1941.
From 1941 to 1944 the building was commanded by the German occupation troops and operated as a German hospital. From 1945 to 1947 the building was occupied by the English army and again it was used as a hospital.
From 1947 to 1950, was delivered to and used by the Greek army. Later the building was rented to an artist of the lyrical scene. In the period 1957 – 1963 it remained uninhabited. From 1964 to 1984 it functioned as a St. John Trinity Clinic, and in 1984 it was abandoned. In 1988 the building was restored by architect G. Hatzimichalis and civil engineer Th. Theologitis.
In 2017, the owners Marialena Miliaras and Spyridon Symeonidis, having the vision of creating a unique place for Greek gastronomy in northern Greece, assigned to the office of the architect Dimitrios Dimos the study and restoration / renovation of the site.
Source of information: “Fisheries Source, AUTh Department of Architects Municipality of Kalamaria 1994.